Roman Catholic Church & Convent Bus Station Rowcroft Medical Centre Beeches Green Health Centre McDonalds St Rose's School The Hill Badbrook House Badbrook Mill
St Roses secondary school by kind permission of Howard Beard
What: The Green, a Jacobean house (site of)
Where: GL5 4AE  Beeches Green
Then: A large picturesque private house, later a girls' boarding school
Now: Health Centre since 1974

The Green was known to be very ancient. Fisher tells us of two people who lived there in the nineteenth century, the Rev W Ellis and Robert Hughes. A J Morton Ball, the Stroud Coroner lived there from the 1880s until 1921, when it became the St Rose’s Roman Catholic secondary boarding school. A house behind it, known as St Bede’s, was a boarding house for the school; before that it had been the Stroud Ladies College of the nineteenth century, run by the Misses Howard. St Rose’s school closed in 1964. St Bede’s is still there, another Health Centre building.

From January 2016, this website is managed by Stroud Local History Society

Revised 2018 EMW